Mushroom, Tempeh Burrito

It’s true that I am a big fan of wrapping my food–I love burritos, spring rolls, sandwiches, crepes, tacos……So, it is no surprise that when I don’t know what else to  make I fall back on one of these.  Last night it was time for burritos. Here is a super easy, tasty, and pretty healthy dinner that you can make in about 20 minutes.

2 Portobello Mushrooms

1/2 package tempeh (I used LightLife Three grain tempeh)

1 small yellow onion

2 TBLS olive oil

3 cloves fresh garlic minced

1/2 tsp thyme

tamari

1/2-1 cup cooked brown rice (optional)

Kale (steamed)

Whole Wheat tortillas ( I used San Luis 10 inch)

Toppings:

cheddar cheese ( I used Morningland Medium Cheddar)

sour cream ( I used Organic Valley 2%)

(And of couse all products are available at Local Harvest Grocery.)

 

I almost always have cooked brown rice in my fridge so that’s why this meal was only 20 minutes. If you need to cook brown rice you’ll need to allow a good 35 minutes for the rice.  I also am a big fan of the pressure cooker and was able to make the Kale in the pressure cooker in less than five minutes.  You can also just steam the kale and this can be cooking/steaming while you make the other items.

Saute chopped onion and garlic until onions have started to wilt and soften.  Add sliced mushrooms (my pieces were about an inch long and 1/2 inch thick) and cook for a few more minutes.  Add  crumbled tempeh and then add tamari. I use tamari to taste. Not sure how much I actually used–maybe 2 TBLS?  Cook all together for a few minutes and then add thyme, salt and pepper if you’d like and finally rice if you want a little fiber and filler.

I warmed tortillas, spooned in tempeh mixture and then topped with cooked Kale. If you are  a vegan or prefer dairy free for a nigh,t stop here and enjoy. If you need a hit of dairy as I did, add grated cheese and a small dollop of sour cream.  Wrap and enjoy.

-Maddie

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

